Bristol and the Brave New World

It’s October, it’s actually quite cold, and it’s nearly time to leave England and get my lily white ass back to Tanzania for the next stint up on Kili. Being back has been a blessing, a curse and a damn good time all at once, with quite possibly the most packed out summer I’ve ever endured. Lots of new friends, plenty of discarded memories via hangovers, and four trips to A & E for various calamatical activities have meant that I’m actually looking forward to a bit of R & R when I get home, a few days to chill out and rid my bike again, re-acclimitise to the altitude and get back into the swing of things.

This time will be different. Not only do I already know what’s going on, where I’m going and what to expect, but I’m far better prepared for it this time. Having spent a small fortune on “things” from the UK, my initial trip out with just a backpack, has been superseded by a return journey with an additional suitcase full of things normally unavailable to your average east african. I shall not be left wanting this time.

It has also been hugely beneficial for me to have spent the last four months working again for Solsoft. At this point I’d like to thank them all for giving me the opportunity to get back into infrastructure support and give me a massive head start on my plans to introduce a fully up to date system for the computer centre that is both robust and adaptable to the needs of a modern learning centre. In addition, a total of 22 desktop computers, 2 decent modern servers and a whole load of other hardware and peripherals have all been donated by solsoft and it’s clients, and will be put to good use – photos and full installation log to follow!

So its time to say goodbye to Bristol and head into the brave new world once again. First stop, Amsterdam, then Copenhagen, my flight to Nairobi is on the 7th of November, then my epic journey will end back in Mshiri just a few days later. Can’t wait to drive across the massai mara, then come back into Tanzania, meet my friends in Arusha, be reunited with my bike and finally arrive, under my own steam, back at home. It won’t be for long however, as on the 15th I shall be down in Dar Es Salaam to meet my brother off the plane, as he has decided to join me for the next three months, and together we aim to climb Kili towards the end of January.

Onwards and forward!

About graigchq

IT professional come travelling hobo.... i'm of to the new world to find out who i am, and leave all that i hate behind, including my negativity!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

