Training for Life

So another amazing experience falls on my lap as I have just spent the day with a lively and intelligent group of young people that are part of a program called Training for Life. Initially put forward by Katy’s friends Clive and Bodil who run the program in Moshi I arrived here this morning and have been showing them the internet, helping fix their laptops and phones and generally soaking up their enthusiasm for life and lust for learning. Unlike the kids in the village who I teach in the computer centre these guys and girls of 18 through 23 are paying to learn new skills in entrepreneurialism, computing, and growing up as adults to be ready for university. It’s so refreshing to see such bright young souls so ready to soak up what we have for them and genuinely taking things on and becoming better people as a result. I’ve only been here for one day but I already feel like I have made some good new friends at a time when I was beginning to lose sight of why I am here and what I can really offer this country as time goes on. I can’t emphasise enough how much I have enjoyed hanging out with this lot and how much hope I see them all go on to university and be successful in a way that is deserving of their effort. Yet another reason for me wanting to stay here and carry on with what I’ve started. I sit here watching a very organised game of volleyball being played and we’re about to eat dinner before we watch a movie and discuss the themes and then retire for bed. Sounds silly but I’m gonna miss being around this lot. I hope I stay in contact and maybe even return for some more time with the internet before they finish at the end of may.

About graigchq

IT professional come travelling hobo.... i'm of to the new world to find out who i am, and leave all that i hate behind, including my negativity!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

